Healthy?

what is being healthy?  Is it what your BMI is or how you feel?

To me it’s how you feel … within reason of course because nothing is ever simple.  For the first time in my life I am classed as morbidly obese.  After taking anti-depressants, which sadly for me made me gain weight, giving up alcohol and smoking the weight has piled on over the past couple of years, especially the past couple of months.

But I had light bulb moment a couple of weeks ago … I’m fat and unhealthy and need to do something about it.  So for the first time in my life I’m eating healthy.  I’ve never had to before with working with horses, and for the first time since I fractured and damaged my hip in a riding accident I’m running again.  I use the term running loosely, It’s more like an elephant trying to run on two legs while having a fit!  It’s not easy but I’m doing it and most importantly, it can only get easier.

I’m not a health fanatic, if I want to eat ‘bad’ food I do and have no guilt about it.  Maybe I would lose the excess weight quicker if I was a health fanatic  But would I be happy?  No.  So I would still be unhealthy just in a different way.  To me happiness, or maybe a better word would be contentedness, is everything.  I will be healthy when I’m happy with who I am and how I feel about myself.  I have a weight in mind that I want to get to but the more important goal for me is being fit and feeling fit.  I’m never going to want to run a marathon but a 5k would be nice, or maybe just to get on my horse ride him and not feel like a ball of unbalanced jelly.

And on that thought,  I’m away to have an ice cream in the sun and most of all enjoy it.

 

Leave a Reply

